Subject Guides

Standards

Guide Contents

Free Standards due to COVID-19

A number of standards organizations are making standards related to COVID-19 freely available during the pandemic. Free access is time-sensitive and cannot be guaranteed.

ASTM
Includes standards related to masks, gowns, gloves, hand sanitizers, and respirators. Requires free ASTM account for access.
IEEE
All documents published by IEEE relevant to COVID-19, including standards. Click the button to search, and limit results by checking "standards".
ISO
Standards for ventilators, protective clothing, gloves, medical devices, and more. Read-only.

Definition of Standards

Standards are documented agreements containing technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as rules, guidelines, or definitions of characteristics, to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.

Finding Standards

SAI Global InfoStore
SAI Global is an online vendor for standards documents. Can search by specific publisher and also lists international equivalent of standards. No full-text access.

Engineering Village (Compendex)
Compendex indexes standards by selected organizations. Current organizations include AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, IEEE, SAE, and SMPTE. No full-text access to standards.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

Accessing Standards

How do I access standards?

Most standards are available through their sponsoring or issuing organization such as ANSI, IEEE, SAE, or ASTM. Below are standards that BU Library subscribes (indicated by the lock icon) to or are freely available online. For other standards, please contact the Engineering Librarian, Aleshia Huber, to request a specific standard.

AISC
American Institute of Steel Construction current standards are freely available for download.
AHRI
Air-conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute provides PDF copies of standards free-of-charge.
ANSI IBR
ANSI standards Incorporated By Reference (IBR) are ANSI-hosted standards incorporated into the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations and are available freely online. It includes selected standards from the following organizations:
more...less...
AHAM, AMCA, ASA, AWS, HFES, IAPMO, IEC, IES, ISA, ISO, and NEMA.

Additionally, it provides links to IBR standards not hosted by ANSI, including AHRI, AISC, APA, API, ASHRAE, AWWA, CSA, ICC, MSS, NACE, NFPA, NFRC, SJI, and UL.
APA
The Engineered Wood Association has freely available standards. You must register and make and account to view/download.
ASHRAE
Theses American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers standards have been incorporated into federal code and are freely available to read online.
IEEE
The Libraries subscribes to the IEEE Xplore Digital Library of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. This includes IEEE standards.
MIL
Many Military Standards (MIL) are made freely available by the Department of Defense. You may need to create an account to access the standard document.
NFPA
Many National Fire Protection Association standards can be accessed freely in their online viewer. You need a free NFPA account to view.
OSHA
Occupational Safety & Health Administration standards are available online at the OSHA website.
UL
Most Underwriter Laboratories (UL) standards can be accessed freely on their online catalog. You need to create a UL account in order to view, and standards are on a view-only basis. Search for a specific standard, then click on it. The "digital view" button will open the standard's online viewer.